I SHOULD HAVE TOLD YOU EARLIER

Bo3_wS8CMAAQur7
I should not have allowed you to pass by without a single word about my most precious gift. I should not have kept running on the treadmill beside you without sharing a single word. I should not have allowed the door to close behind me without taking a second look. I should not have allowed you to continue reading that book on the line at Starbucks, without asking you about it’s purpose and to warn you of its danger.

I am instructed to care and love my neighbor as myself and yet I keep passing moments by. Saying within myself, I should have told you earlier. The moment our eyes met and you said hi, I should have not allowed the moment to slip by. I should have told you about my Savior Lord and King. I should have told you about how he died for me. I should have told you that my sins are erased and the debt has been paid. When I saw that you did not have enough change, I should have rushed in and paid. Then gently share his name. I should have told you earlier.

25 responses to “I SHOULD HAVE TOLD YOU EARLIER

  1. Yes, that’s a real challenge Roger. Thanks for reminding us.

    • Indeed it is. It becomes more difficult when we do not take the time to minister to the Lord before beginning our day. It is God through the Holy Spirit who places upon our hearts the motivation to move about with precision, wisdom, and love.

  2. Wow!
    I wish i could do more too.
    I think i can.

  3. WOW!!! Thank you for the reminder ;~)

  4. Beautiful essay! A wonderful example of poetry in prose! Thanks for sharing this essay with us!!!!

  5. Probably so, but wouldn’t it be wonderful if we Christians were so different and so filled with love for each other that our lives would tell the story instead.

    • For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved. How then shall they call on him in whom they have not believed? and how shall they believe in him of whom they have not heard? and how shall they hear without a preacher? And how shall they preach, except they be sent? as it is written, How beautiful are the feet of them that preach the gospel of peace, and bring glad tidings of good things! Romans 10:13-15

      • Sorry Roger, but I’m going to have to partially disagree with you here and expand on Larry’s thought a bit. I partially wrote about this in a post from last year, which I’ll share here:

        http://soulherbs.wordpress.com/2011/06/17/preaching-without-words/

        If you go out of your way to share the gospel with me, I know (if I am being charitable) that you have only good motives and intentions. But why should I listen to you? What makes your message any more important than the hundreds of other opinions and agendas floating around in the world today? Truth be told, I’ve probably already heard it, but have connected that message with words such as “greed”, “hypocrisy”, and so on because of personal experience, observation, and a worldly media that is all too happy to apply such labels…

        “I am instructed to care and love my neighbor as myself and yet I keep passing moments by.” And yet, if I grab a random individual and “preach the gospel” to him or her, am I loving that individual? Would it not be better to take the time to acquaint myself with that individual, forge a friendship, listen carefully to their troubles, hurts, and needs, and then apply God’s Word like a salve? If I took that kind of time, meeting that individual where they are (and not where I wish they were), wouldn’t this create more interest in hearing the Gospel? If I hand out bread based on need, some will want to meet the baker…

        “God continually introduces us to people in whom we have no interest, and unless we are worshiping God the natural tendency is to be heartless toward them. We give them a quick verse of Scripture, like jabbing them with a spear, or leave them with a hurried, uncaring word of counsel before we go. A heartless Christian must be a terrible grief to our Lord.” – Oswald Chambers

        I’m not suggesting that this is a black and white issue. If the opportunity is presented, by all means, seize it. However, if we set our sights on making sure we “preach the gospel” in every random encounter in life, we will be mostly ineffectual. Preaching is good and necessary, as Paul points out, but if one is not living out what they claim to believe, does that not bring shame to the name of Christ, rather than glory?

        What I have found is that, the more I love others, meeting them where they are and tending to their needs, the more truth seekers (a work of the Spirit) come find me, making me a fisherman of men…

        “It is inbred in us that we have to do exceptional things for God: but we have not. We have to be exceptional in the ordinary things, to be holy in mean streets, among mean people, and this is not learned in five minutes” – Oswald Chambers

      • Let me give you some background on this post. Those situations are real life situations that I actually had successful encounters sharing Jesus. Of course, as far as the Holy Spirit entering people at that moment no man knows, but the Spirit of God. He sometimes reveals it, but not normally. The believer in Christ must be continually God conscious. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths (Proverbs 3:6). The believer must depend upon the peace of God and the leading of the Holy Spirit. It is not haphazard and unfocused. It’s like using a laser guided missile in a crowded city. All others may be passed by, but the targeted building no longer exists. This is the way in which a believer should move around in life. The words change depending upon the person in whom you are speaking. Some I have flat out said, you need Jesus and they respond with a yes may I receive prayer, others it may be gentle dialogue or a second, third, fourth encounter. We move, breathe, and have or being in Christ and move according to his unction.

      • Agreed, and we’re on the same page on this one. I’m always a little cautious whenever I see a teaching concerning a call to preach, as I think we have to distinguish between the vocation to preach (of which you are called to do) and the more general call to testify, which we are all called to do, with our hands and feet, as well as our mouths. You clarified between the two beautifully. Thanks for the reply. 🙂

      • As an added note for anybody else following this thread, I cited Oswald because he devoted numerous writings to this very subject. I would highly encourage anybody looking to refine their message to explore his writings, as there are many pearls to be found.

  6. Very well said. A great reminder.

  7. I just started reading this, but it’s pretty cool so far. So I nominated you for the “One Lovely Blog” award.
    Check here for details:

  8. Praise God for he has the power to help us move into position to be better witnesses,just as He did on the day of Pentecost. And we just have to keep praying and waiting “Hallelujah”! Wonderfully done Roger,thanks for your visit and keep up the good work.
    Love you brother 😀

  9. judithsmarkworld

    I can’t remember how many times I felt “the nudge” and still did nothing. 😦 Thanks for sharing.

  10. faithfulnibbles

    Hi
    I nominated you for the 10 Commandments Award you can go to my blog to get the instructions how to recieve and add to your blog. Congratulations
    http://faithfulnibbles.wordpress.com/2012/06/29/the-ten-commandments-award/
    God Bless
    Marilyn

  11. This is a beautiful post! Thanks for sharing…

  12. true. I don’t look forward to the day God shows me people walking into Hell that I didn’t tell. And yet, we keep doing it. How sad!

  13. A great post!! So good to be reminded!! We must never let an opportunity pass because we never know if that person will have a tomorrow. And it can be as easy as handing out a Bible tract.

  14. Yes, thank you. Much needed reminder indeed. Time is very short.

  15. Good reminder of our Grand Commission. And here’s a thought, by Bishop Desmond Tutu…

    “I don’t preach a social gospel; I preach the Gospel, period. The gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ is concerned for the whole person. When people were hungry, Jesus didn’t say, “Now is that political or social?” He said, “I feed you.” Because the good news to a hungry person is bread.”

  16. Pingback: Walking Cross » Why I Do What I Do

Leave a comment