Cinderella’s Slipper

Disney-Cinderella-Shoes-964x644Once upon a time there was a man and his name was Adam. Adam never thought he would find his Cinderella. He toiled the fields and named all the animals. He even called upon the name of his God and had fellowship with him.  He was excited by the intimacy shared with Cinderella. The intoxication of their relationship would make some sick and others would be in agreement that the feeling of passion is fleeting. Adam only knew good. He was not aware of evil. He loved Cinderella and Cinderella loved him. Everything was perfect…. until this serpent of glamour and glitz showed up. He offered Cinderella a chance for beauty and wealth beyond her wildest dreams. He took her through a mental exercise of what it would be like to literally have everything. No boundaries. No limitations. Everything may be yours and all you have to do is give me your loyalty. Will you do this?

As you go through the story did you forget everything was already perfect? If you did, now you see why we must continually be thankful and meditate on the truth because when alternatives come, we need to see them clearly and not become easily swayed by a bad deal.

21 responses to “Cinderella’s Slipper

  1. This was a very good lesson from such a popular story. Keep up the good work.

  2. Very good lesson. We must be spirit filled and keep our eyes on God with gratitude and faith. Thanks for the story.

  3. Your youthful insight continues to delight me in both you and the Lord.

  4. Good advice! The old saying think before you act is very appropriate

    Thanks for sharing.

  5. In Eden, “did you forget everything was already perfect?” — I haven’t seen it put this way before, but that’s exactly the issue. Psalm 103:2 says “Praise the LORD, my soul, and forget not all his benefits” (NIV) and we’re so quick to forget.

    Thanks for this clear reminder to be intentionally thankful.

  6. Wow, Roger. You’ve got me thanking Him today, for all that He has done , is doing and will do. Doesn’t get any better than that! God bless you!

  7. We are always looking beyond faith for Cinderella, if only we we looked to God in the first place.

  8. So true, great story. Here we also everything perfect if we can avoid the serpent of greed and envy. Thank you.

  9. Roger…it’s strange that this story hit a nerve with me. Funny how the first thing you read snaps a memory for another soul on this globe….I’m reading more…you’ve got my attention…

    T.

  10. Thanks Roger. What to do when alteratives come your way… I like the your guilding principle at the end… thanks you.
    Paul

  11. Roger,

    What a great reminder of the need to ALWAYS be content. When I was young, my father used to always tell me that “things can always be worse”. It took me many years to see the truthfulness of his statement.

    Phil 4:11-13 (KJV)
    11) Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, [therewith] to be content. 12) I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. 13) I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.

  12. “As you go through the story did you forget everything was already perfect? ”

    Nice line. I try to tell myself to be thankful for all that I have, even in the tough times.

  13. Pingback: Three Good Things | God With Us: Finding Joy

  14. Thank you SO much for stopping by my blog. I thought I’d check yours out. This post was very engaging and it really drew me in. Thank you for sharing it.

  15. I love the way you have shared this message, thanks for the added insights into a passage I have not long read

    • Sometimes one has tunnel vision. I have recently learned in psychology that women more focus upon the hear and now. Some of the preoccupation of the present limits room for bright thoughts for the future of every believer.

  16. “As you go through the story did you forget everything was already perfect?” Absolutely! And the devil could not stand such happiness and contentment.

    Many times in life we have all we need, and yet, never satisfied. When we learn to spiritually disconnect from materialism, we will experience a peace that even through trials, we are assured all will be well in the end.

    It is amazing that people often complain of being broke, when all they have to do is stop buying so many things that do not satisfy the soul. When will we learn?

    Thank you for sharing.
    Terry

  17. Richard Ward WIlson

    Roger, thanks for the visit and the follow of my blog. Love your choice of photos. I enjoyed the slipper analogy.

  18. Hmmmm..sounds familiar. Just that the roles are mixed up :-p Not expecting a Christian to drop by but am happy you did. You remind me of my brother. He used to be a seminarian too.

Leave a comment