My Take: When it comes to ‘God’ in our political platforms, less is more?

A banded adult bald eagle by U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

I tread lightly when it comes to the political scene as these things change ever so quickly and when you place pen to parchment concerning things you only have limited purview, it becomes a feeding ground for eating ones words, but here goes.

We have separation of church and state for the purpose of avoiding a theocracy. A theocracy is not necessarily bad as this will be the model at the culmination of Christ return, but for the present distress I think God has felt it best to remain as it is. Everyone must submit himself to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God (Romans 13:1).

 God in his knowledge and patience understands the exact scene that will produce the greatest harvest. He is not ignorant of the life, we live currently and what will happen in the future. God has also given us a great deal of liberty in choosing this day, who we shall serve. That being said, God in ones life cannot be separated. It is like pulling apart the relationship I have with my mother. She may be dead or alive, close or far, she is still my mother. The same is with my relationship with God.

Does simply mentioning the name of God speak of salvation? Absolutely not, however one should have such liberty. Less is never more when speaking about God. God should be used as freely as one feels. Those who chose to believe God does not exist only sadden me. I am not mad or even slightly worried. Why are those that do not believe become defensive when God is used?

For the time will come when men will not put up with sound doctrine. Instead, to suit their own desires, they will gather around them a great number of teachers to say what their itching ears want to hear (2 Timothy 4:3).

Are we living in those days now? Talk to me!

12 responses to “My Take: When it comes to ‘God’ in our political platforms, less is more?

  1. Yes, we are absolutely in those days. I am all for Freedom of religion, let people worship whatever God they want, but as a Christian who believes in the Bible it is astounding to see what some people believe. And scary.

  2. Good Post! So well said! Yes this is a time when people only want to hear what they like to hear. So many people believe today that everyone worships the same God whether Budest or Muslem. They want to believe that we all are on our way to heaven. No one wants to hear about sin and hell fire. Christians in general have grown too “soft” and to acquainted with the world to even notice that things are growing more and more spirtually dark around them.This is no time for believers to be entertaining themselves on the world’s playground; it is time to rise up and witness to the lost and dying around them and get serious about our Christianity before we lose our freedoms.

    • It is getting more and more difficult to stand without being considered old fashion and the church platform of no judging is producing people who will stand for anything. Some would say the benefit of Christian’s losing their freedom will give rise to an easier identification of sheep and wolf. I would rather live in peace as much as is possible instead.

  3. Too often I think people are so enamored with the idea of God coming back and when that they forget that today is what’s important. Today is the day i live, that I have a chance to tell God I love Him, and to show Him how much I love Him. Today is the day I have an opportunity to speak for Him, to show His love and kindness to others, and to extend His grace toward those who are undeserving. Looking to the future robs us of today. I’m not saying we shouldn’t ever look to Christ coming back because that’s what gives us hope, but we need to focus on what He wants of us today, not on what He will do at some point in the future.

  4. Mass amounts of professing Christians didn’t believe Almighty GOD would allow our current President to be elected. Those same people believe that way again. I wonder why? Especially since his opponent is a devout Mormon!

    • So your response is that God desires his people to be active in this world and not just hidden behind the scenes waiting to be rescued? Like David charging forth after Goliath or the two spies returning from the promise land and repeating God’s words of victory instead of defeat? Too many Christians are negative and when I read the scriptures I can’t get around the verse that says I can do all things through Christ that strengthens me.

  5. Is what you are saying is that we should be that voice for God no matter what the consequences? If not, please clarify your point for me.

    • Please clarify what you think I mean by being the voice of God. There are many voices of people claiming to speak on behalf of God that is contrary to the wisdom of God within scriptures, but if an unbeliever asks about my faith, I do not falter in sharing the truth of Jesus. I am trying to answer without the clarification and hopefully this answers your question. I do not cast pearls before swine nor do I commit to meaningless argument with someone who is blind. If someone is genuine, it is generally known.

  6. This is a great post my friend. However, I sense the disobedience in your tone. When God gives you a word, you should tell as it.

    God blesses.

Leave a Reply

