Friend of God

jesuschirst___wallpaper_by_mostpato-d5i6lqu

And the scripture was fulfilled that says, “Abraham believed God, and it was credited to him as righteousness,” and he was called God’s friend (James 2:23). Jesus said, “You are my friends if you do what I command. I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you” (John 15:14-15). Christians are friends of God. Like any friend there are great benefits from friendship. A friend shares there secrets, opens their home, gives gifts, and spends quality time. There are boundaries in friendship. Rules that keep the friendship intact. Obeying those rules keeps the friendship and breaking them will ruin it. Friends are faithful to you and you can trust them.

Being God’s friend is very much the same. Listen: You adulterous people, don’t you know that friendship with the world means enmity against God? Therefore, anyone who chooses to be a friend of the world becomes an enemy of God (James 4:4). Do you hear God saying are you with me? Are you my friend? Don’t claim to be my friend and disobey the rules of our friendship or betray my trust by following my enemy.

Are you a friend of God? Do you want to be his friend? Be faithful to the rules of this friendship. He is always faithful and upfront about how he deals with his creatures called man. A friendship with God does not protect you from trouble, similar to a regular friend, but with the trouble like a regular friend God is there to comfort you.

Always keep this thought in mind. This world is not the home of the Christian. Our home is in heaven. Never forget that our friend (God) wants us to be close to him.

 

Leave a Reply

