DO YOU LIKE YOUR NAME?

nameWhen your name is called in the midst of a crowd do you cringe at the mention of your name? Do you ignore your spouse when your name is called? Do you ignore the phone call from the friend who calls your name in the middle of a crisis? Do you despise the name you have been given?

Everyone knows that names have power. They contain within them the ability to move money, erect buildings, start wars, and even sentence to death. They can be used to bring joy or even cause sorrow. They can accompany feelings of pleasure or feelings of pain. What does your name invoke? Ask somebody.

Men may run to have the name Lexus in the driveway or BMW. Women may run to have the name Brahmin or Neil Lane. Children may run to have the name Barbie or Optimus Prime. These names make the owners feel better about their personal worth. Forsaking the worth of their own name they seek labels of someone elses. Why? Who told you your name means nothing?

It is important to like the name you have been given. To grant yourself the right to enjoy the delicate intricate design you have been granted. To embrace your individual characteristics and submit your name to only one name which is above all names.

5 responses to “DO YOU LIKE YOUR NAME?

  1. 5 The one who conquers will be clothed thus in white garments, and I will never blot his name out of the book of life. I will confess his name before my Father and before his angels. [Rev 3:5 ESV]

  2. Wow, this is profoundly thought provoking and beautiful to me. For someone who hated her name as a child for years, I threatened my parents that I would change it when I was old enough. I am now almost twenty years beyond old enough and my name is the same. I would struggle on and off with it, saying that my name had a stupid meaning (it is a real word in the English dictionary). Well, one day, God sends this lady to me with the same meaning, but rephrased in a way that made me shudder from head to foot: My name! The purpose behind it was so powerful! I have held my head strongly ever since, but like typically human, have wandered off to feeling better about myself when I am associated with other names. Your words this morning are a powerful reminder to me to keep it simple. basic. and tied in.

  3. I was given a name that I like very much, but can hardly pronounce. Graham? Greg? No, I said it’s Grant. There’s no other word in the English language I struggle with, but that one, funny enough. One guy once made fun of my name. “Grant me three wishes,” but it suits me, and I like to think I represent the word that is my name.

  4. AMEN!! GOD BLESS YOU…AGAPE!

Leave a Reply

