MUSIC

image8
This blog may cause the reader some nausea, so I warn you from the beginning. This subject is one fraught with disagreement and some even get violent when it does not fit the mold in which they are comfortable and that is fine with me. We all have areas of growth. Namely, loving our neighbors as ourselves. With that aside, I begin.

For those who may be confused about so-called Christians listening to secular music, let me clear it up. They are not following God. They profess to follow him, but do not in this area. How do I know? Who receives the glory and adoration in secular music? You or God? Is God dividend? Are there more than two kingdoms? So if you conclude that there is the kingdom of darkness and the kingdom of light, then it must mean God has music as well as Satan?

How does one identify whether or not God or Satan inspires the music? Can a spring produce both fresh and salt water? So if a person has titled their music as secular then how is it not Satan’s music? Or could it mean some can be holy and others not inspired? Really? Now if a secular person decides to sing a traditional Christian song, should this inspire? Should the believer be pleased with this deceptive and hypocritical behavior? Would Jesus be pleased?

How does one manifest the attributes of one working toward perfection when one meditates (listens to secular music) on lies and deception? You do know Miley Cyrus new song right? “We can’t stop” Which goes:

It’s our party we can love who we want
We can kiss who we want
We can live how we want

To my homegirls here with the big butts
Shaking it like we at a strip club
Remember only God can judge us

Is this scriptural? I realize some will say, is all her music like this? Again I say can a spring produce both fresh and salt water?

Don’t get me wrong, I pray Miley Cyrus comes to know Jesus and feel sad for her father. But professing saved parents and grown people what message are you giving your children?

I could use Beyoncé’s new song “Bow Down” Which goes:

I took some time to live my life
But don’t think I’m just his little wife
Don’t get it twisted, get it twisted

This my sh-t
Bow down, b-tches
Bow down, b-tches

Really! I know she sung a song about putting a ring on it. To this I say, can a spring produce both fresh and salt water? Protect yourselves and protect your children.

We are to be separated from this world, in the vicinity, but not of it. It is crucial for us to remain individuals, so that when Miley gets tired, she has somewhere to go.

15 responses to “MUSIC

  1. That was awesome and God inspired.

  2. This is a topic I have often discussed with fellow believers and there seems to be a lot of people who think it’s okay to listen to secular music as a professing born again Christian. While I don’t condemn all secular music, I also want to point out that it doesn’t mean secular music is good for a believer. Notice I didn’t say “right” or “wrong”… the difference in music being “good” and it being “right” is captured in 1 Corinthians 10 verse 23 and following…

    23 “Everything is permissible”–but not everything is beneficial. “Everything is permissible”–but not everything is constructive… 31 So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God

    I believe it depends on your level of faith and how close your walk with God is. If you’re determined to surrender every area of your life to Him, your choice of music should be surrendered too. If you’re still struggling with surrendering, then pray about it, for the strength of will to let go.

    I struggled for over a year to let go of secular music that I love, it was one of the hardest things to do since I love music so much. I still occasionally find myself listening to secular songs but I do a thorough background check of the artist to be sure hers/his standards are in line with mine even if the song isn’t a “gospel” song. I also looked for good Christian singers in genres of music that I liked and switched to them, giving up the secular music, but not the kind of music I liked. Now I listen to gospel rock, gospel blues etc instead of the secular versions.

    You would be amazed at what you’d find as regards good Christian music in genres that you may already like. Just take some time out to do research and always be on the lookout for good music, you’ll have a playlist that both is edifying to you and glorifying to God.

  3. Thank you Rodger, it is True, in some songs the words are twisted, immoral and yes very evil, we can see error too with Country and Western lyrics over the years and other popular songs but some Christian songs also have error in their lyrics but to some, they are not so noticeable.

    One church I went to was singing to Mother god the creator and to weary father god, when I asked why, I was told, because some have had bad relationships with their father, I said what about my mother who abused and then abandoned me … No reply! . Music cords come from God, their Melody from His heart but music too can also be distorted by man as are many other things that are gifts or blessings from God .

    When I was an Atheist in my head not my heart or I wouldn’t be writing this, there was a popular song that was not known as Christian song but I could not get it out of my mind, it was not till I knew the Lord that the words (see below) made sense to me but at the time they touched me greatly, somehow they comforted me. God does not really need us, He is complete in the Godhead or Trinity as They are called today but He chooses to need us , we are The Body of Christ, His arms, hands, feet and voice to reach out to a hurting world, God Loves us greatly and wants our friendship. He plants His seeds everywhere but as you said Rodger so does Satan, so we do need to be discerning.

    You Needed Me

    I cried a tear
    You wiped it dry
    I was confused
    You cleared my mind
    I sold my soul
    You bought it back for me
    And held me up and gave me dignity
    Somehow you needed me

    Chorus
    You gave me strength
    To stand alone again
    To face the world
    Out on my own again
    You put me high upon a pedestal
    So high that I could almost see eternity
    You needed me
    You needed me

    And I can’t believe it’s you I can’t believe it’s true
    I needed you and you were there
    And I’ll never leave, why should I leave
    I’d be a fool
    ‘Cause I’ve finally found someone who really cares

    You held my hand
    When it was cold
    When I was lost
    You took me home
    You gave me hope
    When I was at the end
    And turned my lies
    Back into truth again
    You even called me friend

    Repeat Chorus

    I will be back with a response to good Christian Music from the past and today.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

  4. Christians should definitely exercise discernment when listening to music and giving support to artists and musicians, but your polarization of Christian music and secular music is dangerous and false for several reasons.

    1) There is plenty of Christian music that has, in my opinion, nothing to do with Christ. Conversely, there is “secular” music that expresses noble and beautiful themes that remind us of the Gospel. I have religious feelings whenever I hear Etta James.
    2) Christians are not to live in quarantine (John
    17:6-19). Jesus never gave us the easy option of opting out of the society and culture around us. If he had, would the Pharisees have called him a glutton and a drunkard?
    3) Polarizations of problems lead to a witchhunt mentality, which is precisely what is feeding the fires of secular atheists, radical Islam, unconstitutional politicians, and the general demise of institutionalized evangelical Christianity today.
    4) If we extend your polarization to other walks of life, we would not be able to eat, maintain our homes, clothe ourselves, or do anything, etc. Should we really support corrupt and amoral corporations like Monsanto, Walmart, Coca-Cola, Apple, etc? Probably not. I don’t think this dilemma is new: Jesus, the 12 Apostles, and Paul lived in a very corrupt age; spending money anywhere basically fed their adversaries.

    • My post is simple. You need to read it again slowly. I distinctly used the word meditate, when referring to listening to secular music. Why? Because I don’t live in a Christian nation. I go to the mall where they play secular music. I get my hair cut and go to the spa where they play secular music. Work picnics that play secular music. Funerals that play secular. How do you think I heard about Miley Cyrus and Beyonce? I don’t have them on my Itunes or listen to them on Pandora.

      I meditate on worship music. Check out my play list – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C6WexG9uAJI&list=PLSWWUmNwhGvEWxrijrfrQuURRjhMm8Px5&feature=mh_lolz

      I choose to live by this verse “Seven times a day I praise you for your righteous laws.” Psalm 119:164

      There is something supernatural that happens to a Spirit-filled believer when he daily praises God. If you did it, you would know exactly what I am talking about.

      I challenge you. When you wake up in the morning, whatever your morning is just listen to my playlist or choose Christian music of your particular genre and worship God. There will be a love in your heart that will remove racism, pride, etc.

      Am I perfect? Absolutely not. But I strive to be. Why? Be ye therefore perfect, even as your Father which is in heaven is perfect (Matthew 5:48).

  5. Christians should definitely exercise discernment and good judgment when listening to music. You provide good examples of the evil nature of some secular music. Your polarization of secular and Christian music, however, is false and dangerous for several reasons.
    1) Not all Christian music is good. Some of it is evil and greed-driven. Some secular music is very uplifting, reflecting Gospel-friendly themes. Some Biblical scholars have argued that Ecclesiastes and the Song of Songs were “secular” poems included in the canon because of their high philosophical or religious value (I don’t subscribe to this view myself, but it is possible, I guess). I suppose we need to define our terms better. What do we mean by “secular”? Only recently has the term come to mean “atheistic” (there are “secular” priests, etc.)
    2) Christians are not called to live in quarantine (John17).Let’s not adopt a quarantine mentality.
    3) Some exposure to the world (within reason) is necessary for Christians to be tested, built up and trained to discern good from evil.
    4) Polarizations are dangerous, and they lead to the witchhunt mentality that is undermining North American culture, its thought and institutions, today. Don’t like something? It’s “evil”; it’s the “other”. Let’s expel all the Mexicans. Let’s incarcerate all the Muslims. Let’s bomb another foreign country. Let’s give up more of our freedoms to the tyrants to protect us from the “other”. This sounds riduculous (how’d we get here from music?), but at their roots, the problems are the same. This is why the Pharisees called Jesus a glutton and a drunkard.

  6. I’m going to wrap this up. My app is not working right. I think the question is not one of simple labels like “Christian” vs. “secular” music, but the advice Paul gives in Philippians 4, Romans 15, and 1 Corinthians chapters 8-10. It is more scriptural, realistic, and beneficial in the long run. And anyway, Beyonce and Miley are not real musicians; they are marketing puppets. I agree that we shouldn’t listen to them.

  7. Hi again Rodger , this is a bit off the subject although it is about Music and so is important because God tells us Music is and the type of Music because as you shared, not all is good. As the Body of Christ God has given us guidelines in Worship and how we are to praise Him in song which brings Unity and Maturity and as we can see in the Scriptures below, there is always a balance which is needed to reach out to all generations especially the elderly who have joyful memories of the music they grew up with or enjoyed as new Christians, for me it was Scripture in Song, some had really beautiful words straight from Scripture, a few of my favourites were Bind us together in Love and a New Commandment I give unto you to Love one another. My first Church was a close Loving family of all ages, we were in fellowship there for 20 years and there was great Unity and Love and I’m sure our heartfelt worship was the unifying strength that we had in The Lord.

    Ephesians 5:18-20 And be not drunk with wine, wherein is excess; but be filled with the Spirit; Speaking to yourselves in Psalms and Hymns and Spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord; Giving thanks always for all things unto God and the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ;

    Colossians 3:15-17And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to the which also ye are called in one body; and be ye thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom; teaching and admonishing one another in Psalms and Hymns and Spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord. And whatsoever ye do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God and the Father by Him.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

  8. No one is perfect as every example in our bible was not! There is one and only one perfect one whom walked this earth! But even when all who are imperfect fall they repent and get back up…how many times do we forgive another’s sins, or faults, when I think of myself the number of my failings I cannot count them all and there will be many more, so if i cannot clean out the imperfect speck in my eye i will not tear down another. There was one I am reminded of who died on the cross beside Jesus who believed in him in the last moments of his life and asked the Lord to remember him when he entered His kingdom and the Lord God said he would…he was forgiven as he died though a sinner until that moment. How many of us can say the same will happen. We believe and yet even the oldest of us are still maturing! Christ spoke if anyone says they are without sin, does he not say that person is a liar!. Remember always some may listen to worldly music and yet emulate the Lord in many ways, helping the poor and helpless, not condemning another because they are different, and we do not these things so would they also be right in condemning us because we turn our backs on others, while saying we are praying for them. We are all sinners in one way or another while in the flesh…so why let our own words condemn us…and be hypocrites. So that in the final days before the Lord, when we say what we claim to have done in his name, he may not say to us that even though we did many things in his name, he does not know us! God is merciful in a much greater way then we will ever be, Emulate the Lord in His humbleness, his meekness, and genuine love, forgive and help others without condemning, least one day you will be condemned also.I have a hard enough time harnessing myself each day. Love the Lord your God with all your heart and soul, and love your brothers and sisters as you would love yourself (Paraphrased). Teach as many as you can to believe in and emulate Him who alone gives the blessing of eternal life! That they may also be endowed with his genuine treasure and blessing. God bless!

    • Thanks for your comment. Listen hear. In the natural no one applauds the student who continually gets left back. No one gives awards to the doctor who continually botches surgeries. No one gives awards in the military to those who continue to break the UCMJ. Those military members are removed from service. So if the natural world punishes mediocrity, how much more does our heavenly Father punish those whom he loves?

  9. P.S. I have had many conversations with my daughter about lyrical content on songs. I try to teach that we are spirit and flesh, and feeding ourselves too much of one thing, will entangle us in that nature! And though we are not perfect don’t overdose on one type of thing whether music, food, lifestyle religion, to be moderate in all that she does, and always think what would Jesus say or do in each situation! Nice article Roger!

  10. Fantastic Post. Looking forward to more.

  11. As a blog that places importance on faith based music and God’s divine plan for humanity, we believe this might be something you would be interested in:

    The Sunrise Promotes Marriage by Releasing First Official Music Video, “We Have Not Heard”

    The official music video, “We Have Not Heard,” follows a husband and wife through a crisis in their marriage and highlights the success that only a reliance on God can bring to a marriage.

    The music video can be watched here: http://youtu.be/mLRrHSN0vTw

Leave a Reply

