TWISTERS

large tornado

Did you know that twisters are formed by hot and cold air combining together? These different temperatures cause a violent rotating column of air that can produce massive destruction for those within its path. Structures and cars may be thrown by its power and homes destroyed in one sweep. These twisters are dangerous to human life. There are also twisters of Scripture, people, who can cause eternal damage to the body of Christ if allowed to.

What makes twisters so dangerous is that they use the same elements that bring comfort. You have many twisters of Scripture that don’t attend church at all, but speak as though they do. They wrestle with difficult passages of Scripture. They are untaught and unstable. Peter says “You therefore, beloved, knowing this beforehand, be on your guard lest, being carried away by the error of unprincipled men, you fall from your own steadfastness, but grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ (2 Peter 3:17-18).

Twisters of Scripture will tell you church is not necessary in spite of Hebrews 10:24-25 which reads “And let us consider one another to provoke to love and to good works: Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some is; but exhorting one another: and so much the more, as you see the day approaching.” What is the motivation of the person who teaches that church is unnecessary? Is it for your benefit? Or is it a distraction to keep you from gaining strength in numbers? The devil is tricky.

Everyone knows that when you remove a single burning coal from other coals that single coal becomes cold. As soon as you return the coal with the other coals, the chill is removed and the heat restored. Even though there are false teachers and Scripture twisters our greatest strength is in our unity. Don’t forsake church because of twisters of Scripture and what you assume as false pretenders, because at the end of the day you will be the one alone with no brothers or sisters in Christ to receive love from. Better a close friend than a brother far away. The greatest asset you will ever have is friendship with believers in Jesus.

Show some love and watch out for those who are trying to get you disconnected from the church. Their advice contradicts God’s word and we know the end result of that.

8 responses to “TWISTERS

  1. I like that twister metaphor, and the thrust of your post.

    Here’s a twist to your twister metaphor that came to me while reading your post.

    Consider the God of the Bible a righteous, holy, twister that is made up of his own unstoppable will of Law and Love.

  2. Excellent piece, especially the “coals” analogy. Thank you

  3. With regard to “Even though there are false teachers and Scripture twisters our greatest strength is in our unity.”
    These scripture verses came to mind Roger:
    Habakkuk 3:19 “The Sovereign Lord is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of a deer, he enables me to go on the heights”
    Jeremiah 16:9 “O Lord my strength and my fortress, my refuge in times of distress, to you the nations will come from the ends of the earth and say, “Our fathers possessed nothing but false gods, worthless idols that did them no good.”
    Jeremiah 17:5 “This is what the lord says: “Cursed is the one who trusts in man, who depends on flesh for his strength, and whose heart turns away from the Lord.”
    Isaiah12:2 “Surely God is my salvation; I will trust and not be afraid. The Lord, the Lord, is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation.”
    Psalm 28:7 “The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and I am helped. My heart leaps for joy and I will give thanks to him in song.”
    Psalm 28:8 The Lord is the strength of his people, a fortress of salvation for his anointed one.”

  4. Thank you Rodger for joining up with us it’s appreciated, it’s good you have a Blog now. I remember we met on my Blog when I first started, Ron joined me later but unlike you and me it’s not something he enjoys as much as Sport but he does support and encourage me and that is also as you said important for all of us to do.

    I agree with you , we all do need the Body of Christ, we are Jesus, hands, arms feet and voice to reach out to a hurting world and we need to be there for each other to encourage and spur on to do good works . I know this may sound strange but although I do go to Church, I feel Blogging is a big part of my Christian Life and you are all my Family in the Lord, I love to visit and I enjoy sharing as God leads me.

    But there is something that does encourage me greatly and that is that God does not look for worldly degrees or Titles when He chooses His vessels to do His good works that He has prepared in advance for them to do and who He also equips to do them but those that others look down on and think they are better than.

    1 Corinthians 1: 25 31 Because the foolishness of God is wiser than men; and the weakness of God is stronger than men. For ye see your calling, brethren, how that not many wise men after the flesh, not many mighty, not many noble, are called: But God hath chosen the foolish things of the world to confound the wise; and God hath chosen the weak things of the world to confound the things which are mighty; And base things of the world, and things which are despised, hath God chosen, yea, and things which are not, to bring to nought things that are: That no flesh should glory in His presence. But of Him are ye in Christ Jesus, who of God is made unto us wisdom, and righteousness, and sanctification, and redemption: That, according as it is written, He that glorieth, let him glory in the Lord.

    Thanks Rodger I will visit again. Christian Love from us both – Anne

  5. Pingback: TWISTERS | Through the Eyes of This Calvinist

  6. God’s a twister in reverse.
    He undoes our and Adam’s curse.
    He fixes us. He makes us new.
    Recognize it’s all his do.

Leave a Reply

