God’s Word Speaks

Screen Shot 2016-02-08 at 9.05.53 PMThe song WORD OF GOD SPEAK by Christian group Mercy Me has been running through my mind for several days now. The lyrics in the chorus are:

Word of God speak
Would You pour down like rain
Washing my eyes to see
Your majesty
To be still and know
That You’re in this place
Please let me stay and rest
In Your holiness
Word of God speak

I’ve been meditating on these words and on John 6:63, “The words that I (Jesus) speak to you are spirit and they are life.”  The primary way God speaks to us is through His Word.  Then the Holy Spirit, who lives in us, gives us revelation as we read and meditate on the words causing the words to be revelation and have special meaning for our lives.

The lyrics to the song by Mercy Me are really a prayer asking God to speak through His Word, to wash our eyes to see Him in His Word and what He desires us to know; to give us an awareness of His presence as we wait before Him in stillness and quietness and rest in Him.  God wants to communicate with us every day but it’s up to usto “be still” and listen to the Words He speaks to us.  What He has to say each day can make the difference between a good day and a bad day.  He said His Words are life.

I’ve learned to pay attention to what runs through my mind – sometimes words to a song, a scripture, a statement from one of Pastor’s sermons.  Sometimes I wake up and a song is just there – I can’t get it out of my head.  As the words from WORD OF GOD SPEAK began to run through my head over and over, I knew God was saying: “sit down, be still and open My Word.  I want to speak to you.”  Now, I have a choice to make – do I want to stop what I’m doing and take time to listen?  Do you?  Do we want to hear what God has to say to us? It’s a decision we have to make every single day.  But I’m telling you, we are in days that we need to hear what He has to say – we must hear what He has to say.  His Words are life.  To choose life, we must choose to listen to what He has to say.  “Word of God speak.”

by Karen Park

One response to “God’s Word Speaks

  1. Pingback: Our Tools in Decision Making | This Day With God

Leave a Reply

