IS YOUR SICKNESS BIBLICAL OR FROM SIN?

sin, demon, sickness,

Do you find it amazing that much of the sickness found in the world is in direct correlation to sin? Take for instance STDs. STDs are the product of fornication, adultery, homosexuality, and bestiality. The Bible records these actions as sin. Could STDs be God’s judgment?

Take for instance obesity or gluttony. Those who are obese account for many who are in the hospital right now. There is $190,000,000,000 annual health cost in America due to obesity. Gluttony in the Bible is sin. Could the link between obesity and sickness be God’s judgment?

Without going into depression, linked with a reprobate mind, the issues above would remove America out of the financial crisis we find ourselves. Imagine what a difference it would make. Countless marriages restored. Countless men and women with restored minds. Astronomical productivity increases. Instead of focusing on damage control we could focus on the future.

Is this not obvious? Or am I grabbing at the wind?

Our failure is not the sin that entices and tries hard to grip us. It’s not spending enough time absorbing the scriptures, worshipping God and praying to the Father for direction.

picture of herpes: Not so sensual as a sinful night of passion. Some of us have praying parents and God’s grace spared us, how long will you test his mercy?

20 responses to “IS YOUR SICKNESS BIBLICAL OR FROM SIN?

  1. Not a popular thought with the world, but there are consequences to our actions!

    • Indeed. The alternative is to change follow the Lord. This is not a biblical statement, but I remember from my youth something I learned from Bugs Bunny. He said, if you can’t beat em, join them. Not that I am in anyway trying to beat the Lord, but if he makes the rules and he is the ruler, it makes more sense to follow the King, then go forward and be punished. It’s a futile attempt for a finite being.

  2. This is true! I had catch all abstract medical issues that God healed including : depression, irritable bowel syndrome and muscle pain.

  3. Share that truth!!!

  4. The disciples asked Jesus one day, ” Who did sin, this man or his parents that he was born blind?” Jesus answered, “Neither this man nor his parents, but that the works of God should be manifest.” And He healed him. Elisha was sick with the sickness wherewith he was to die and they buried him. Years later a dead man was thrown into his tomb and when his body touched the bones of Elisha he was restored back to life by the anointing that was still upon Elisha. Eight years ago I was diagnosed with an inoperable brain tumor and spinal disease which caused permanent disability. The tumor has caused severe lymph edema and the inability to walk has brought me to a state of obesity even though I eat less than my 140 lb. wife. I am sure that when people see me in my power wheelchair there are those who think, “If he wasn’t so fat he could walk and would’nt need that chair.” It is unwise to judge without knowing the facts and lumping everyone into specific categories. The Pharisees did so and were upbraided by Jesus. I thank God that man looks on the outward appearance but The Lord looks upon the heart. Paul said “Be not many masters among us for unto us receive the greater condemnation.” We as ministers need to weigh heavily our words before we declare them because we have the ability to offend and wound the sheep, sometimes beyond repair.

    • Are you saying that sin does not have consequences on earth? Are you saying that ministers should not address sin? Your response does not address my post. Tell me, is it wise for me to sleep around? Is it wise for me to eat and drink until there is no room within my body to contain it? Who will cry out against sin? The makers of Hollywood?

      Consider this “For those who eat and drink without discerning the body of Christ eat and drink judgment on themselves. That is why many among you are weak and sick, and a number of you have fallen asleep (1 Corinthians 11:30).

      Consider this “But if you will not listen to me and carry out all these commands, and if you reject my decrees and abhor my laws and fail to carry out all my commands and so violate my covenant, then I will do this to you: I will bring on you sudden terror, wasting diseases and fever that will destroy your sight and sap your strength. You will plant seed in vain, because your enemies will eat it (Leviticus 26:14-16).

      You may think the verse in Leviticus 26 does not apply, but I assure you “not the least stroke of a pen, will by any means disappear from the Law until everything is accomplished” (Matthew 5:18).

      • Very rarely do I comment on posts in such a manner, but sometimes there are things said by ministers that must be addressed as when Paul withstood Peter to the face. Of course I believe that sin and God’s judgment on sin should be declared but ALWAYS in conjunction with God’s remedy for sin which is His love, mercy, and grace through Jesus Christ. My disagreement was with the MANNER and TONE in which your post was presented. To those who are afflicted and infirmed it comes across as one of Job’s false comforters who assumed that ALL manner of sickness, infirmity, and disease MUST be God’s judgment on some personal sin when the New Testament declares, “How God anointed Jesus of Nazareth with the Holy Ghost and with power: who went about doing good, and HEALING all that were OPPRESSED of the devil; for God was with him.” (Act 10:38) Sometimes there are reasons for sickness BESIDES being the result of personal sin. You even equated the sin of gluttony with the condition of obesity which are definitely NOT the same. Even your answer back to me had the tone of anger and of one who preaches Christ for contention. You quoted from Leviticus, but Jesus said that He came that the Law might be fulfilled in Him. He said that not one jot or tittle should pass from the law until all should be fulfilled. However, when He said “It is finished” on Calvary’s cross, then the Law was fulfilled and could be removed out of the way in order that a new covenant could be established. “Blotting out the handwriting of ordinances that was against us, which was contrary to us, and took it out of the way, nailing it to his cross;” (Col 2:14) Yes God judges unrepentant sin, but we should NEVER cry out against breaking God’s law without declaring the cure. “For Christ is the end of the law for righteousness to every one that believeth.” (Rom 10:4) Please accept my comments as constructive for that is my intent. I apologize if they seem otherwise. “Come, let us reason together” saith the Lord.

  5. I believe He told us NOT to do it because He knew the consequences!!

  6. Ok, truth is, while married, my husband gave me an STD. I didn’t sin, did I? Yes, my husband had sinned in the past and that’s how he contracted the STD, but I’m not sure how to apply your sermon to my life. I’m ill now after serving in the military overseas. My body is weak, from stressful work and difficulty sleeping, and I ended up with parasites in my intestine. Yes I’m ill, but am I being judged by God in this frail state of health? I don’t know. I eat Gods food, read my Bible daily, and lean on The Lord in all things, I attend church and serve God in my church and community daily. I don’t think much of myself to begin with, I’m only grateful for Jesus dying to save me, because I know I couldn’t do it on my own, ever. But your sermon just leaves me feeling like God is disgusted with my humanness and so He’s going to make me pay through bad health? I thought my debt was paid on the cross, how then should I think that He would inflict pain or suffering on me when I’m just trying to do my best, but still fully aware I fall short on my own and depend on His grace to save me.

    • Your situation is unfortunate and the reason this blog was formed. Sin affects us all. Not just the person doing it. If sin affected just the person doing it, then we would not have inherited Adam’s sin in the Garden of Eden. To posit from my post that all illness or sickness of every form is God’s direct judgment is false and not found within the post. Do not read into this post things that are not there. This post does not address your situation and I am sure if you read my other post you will find the same thing. What it does give you is ammunition to help others. I am sure you know others who are walking down some roads that they should not, have you told them? Will we stand by and allow Satan to destroy for fear of offending?

      If you know God, then you already know he loves you. God has never promised the believer that life would be cake and ice cream. It is the contrary. Unfortunately, the normal Christian life is not being lived by many, you hear the prosperity and the many blessings for obedience, but what about Joseph who listened to God and was accused of adultery that he did not commit. He still received prison, but his imprisonment was not God’s denial or judgment.

      Don’t allow Satan to confuse you. If you have been bought by the blood of Jesus there is power in the blood. This power does not eliminate us visiting the grave, it keeps from staying there. This is not your home. We as believers are only passing through. Please do not get to comfortable thinking this is the last act.

  7. Blessings brother,

    Stand firm, this is awesome and simply truth even though the world’s view is completely different. That is alright, God is in control of all things so we can continue to trust in Him and fight the good fight. Many blessings to you and yours.

  8. Heaven's Rose Gold Streets

    Roger, may the Lord grant you the same grace He extends to those who are caught in the consequences of SIN you speak about in your post. I believe he has and will continue to do so. Like much of our SIN… I speak with much certainty…we just haven’t been exposed and there are no physical manifestations. Sin is sin nonetheless. God bless you!

    • Just to let you know all unrighteousness is sin, but there is a sin unto death (1 John 5:16-17). There are many times in the Old Testament and times in the New Testament where individuals were killed on the spot for their sin. Sin is serious business. A couple of examples may be found in Exodus chapter 32 and Acts chapter 5.

      Off topic a little, Have you ever consider why the gate is wide, and broad is the way, that leadeth to destruction, and many there be which go in thereat (Matt 7:13)? Does this bother you? And what are you personally doing about it? I say this not for your sake, but for those who will read my response.

      If the verses above are new to you, then some preacher or teacher is failing to tell you the entire truth about our God. God is love (1 John 4:8),and God judgeth the righteous, and God is angry with the wicked every day (Psalm 7:11).

      My words are not spoken from some lofty place and if what I say is heresy, you better believe God is angry with me, but if what I say is true, then woe to those who hear this truth and return to wickedness and not consider what God is saying.

  9. I’m very grateful for the Grace that God can show us even when we are steeped in sin. His Grace can abound in times like those, and that Goodness is what draws people to Him. Jesus was always so gentle with sinners. I don’t think God is angry with us. If he was, He wouldn’t have sent Jesus to pay “once for all”.

    I like your take on things. Sin is a real thing that we have to face facts on. I’m going to cling to Jesus, and what He did, and walk out my faith till I become better and better.

  10. Im grateful for the post.Really thank you! Awesome.

  11. You have spoken hard things for many. I pray for your continued boldness, I wish you were multiplied as you risk being accepted by many for claiming the truth.

  12. I don’t see herpes and obesity as God punishing us for sin. I see herpes and obesity as reasons why God defines promiscuity and gluttony as sin; He defines sins so we can avoid doing things that are harmful to ourselves and others. Unfortunately we often don’t heed His advice and we suffer the natural consequences of our actions….

    • You really need to take a look at the Old Testament that is used for our example today. You will see many times within the text where disease followed disobedience. Also, God does not give advice. He is a Great King and gives commands. Disobey them and receive his punishment. If you are not receiving any punishment from him, its because you are not his child.

      When did natural consequences exist outside the scope of God?

  13. Pingback: dennis' notes

Leave a Reply

