The Welcome Mat

Zoomed in doormat by odolphie, on Flickr

Recently, I moved into a new place and while carrying things in the front door I couldn’t help but notice the very worn ‘welcome’ doormat. I continued to carry the things in and walked over it many times but each time, I noticed just how worn it was.

I reflected on the many times I have asked the Lord for forgiveness and the weariness that comes with it. Is it possible for me to wear out my welcome? Just like the worn welcome mat, can I wear him out? No! He is a God of grace and mercy. He knows ours sins and shortcomings, he welcomes our talks and his grace and mercy can cover anything that we mess up.

Don’t stop asking God for your miracle; don’t stop asking God to help you in your situation! You must ask or the Bible would not have said, “Ask and you shall receive, seek and you shall find”. What do you need from your Heavenly Father? Healing, financial help, help with your children, help overcoming a weakness or sin? Whatever it is, DON’T feel that you have worn out your welcome, you haven’t. A good parent will always welcome their children home. An evil parent gives their children gifts. How much more does your Heavenly Father welcome your communication with him?

I bought a new doormat for appearance sake, but I kept the old one and placed it on the back porch just to remind me. Now I can wear out the new one and associate it with talking to my Heavenly Father…I am not going to wear out my welcome with him ever!!!

picture by  odolphie

By Sheila (Guest Post)

Send guest post submissions to: inimnez@aol.com

11 responses to “The Welcome Mat

  1. Wonderful post. I needed this today. God bless you.

  2. It is comforting to know we cannot wear out our welcome with our Father in Heaven. Good object lesson for believers.

  3. Pingback: LO ZERBINO | Bibbia: domande e risposte—By ideacreamanuela

  4. Pingback: A Prayer Tonight | True and faithful servant

Leave a Reply

