SURVIVOR THE SERIES

survivor-logo, survivor the series, survivor cbs

Are you intrigued by the survivor series? Are you hanging on every word, waiting with anticipation for the next episode? Are you a regular participant in office conversation of who will survive? Are you surprised by the strategies used to eliminate the other person on the show?

The series success is rooted in reality. As participants of the human race and members of multiple families we often find ourselves in a survivor series. Those who are in the military are pitted against their peers for promotion. There is favoritism among siblings by their parents.  The “ it” guy and girl in school competes against the up and coming “it” guy or girl. The adulteress competes for more attention. All these things and more create survivors or casualties.

The biggest problem with this type of living is that it contradicts scripture. For the Bible commands our love be directed toward God. All these things mentioned above are focused upon self.  The preservation of self is found through the elimination of ones self in Christ.

If we live against the grain, there is something you will notice change. Your burden becomes light and your yoke becomes easy. When you play the survivor series with humanistic rules you carry the entire burden yourself. When you play using God’s rules he promises to help carry.

“Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.”  – Matthew 11:28-30

6 responses to “SURVIVOR THE SERIES

  1. men2men@comcast.net

    ‘When you play using God ‘s rules He PROMISES TO HELP CARRY”
    That statement spoke volumes to me. Especially when you are experiencing divers temptations and trials. Knowing that all you need to do is keep playing by God’s Rule and you will overcome!!!!!!

    Thanksss

  2. Pingback: True Spiritual Renewal, When You Don’t Have Time | Faith

  3. men2men@comcast.net

    Minister Rogers, speaking of survivor. You sent out a praise / worship song
    awhile ago. I shared it with others but I CAN NOT FIND IT- I need to listen to it right about now.

    Back to surviving – I have been put in a position to take authority concerning a specific situation. Gods Word makes it very plain. And yet there are a lot of people who have emotional investment in my decision. They all agree that I need to do it. And yet they have some reservations because they are emotionally invested. I am just as much or more emotionally invested. And yet I realize that I have a responsibility to what is TRUTH.
    The competition is between right and wrong. Light and Dark, God’s standard or the devils. I AM TRYING TO PLAY BY GOD’S RULE!!

    Thanksss

    • Always follow the peace of God. Whenever I am making a decision I acknowledge him and then move accordingly. God has not failed me. He has never failed me. Oh! Did I say never? Never. Follow him always. When the LORD takes pleasure in anyone’s way, he causes their enemies to make peace with them (Proverbs 16:7).

  4. God has been consistently faithful to me, even when I was not faithful to him. His mercy and grace are amazing in my everyday life and the miracle of my salvation has never dimmed for me.

Leave a Reply

