Gallery

Is Friending Your Child on Facebook Enough?

Facebook, child, protection

There is a false perception that being your child’s friend on Facebook is sufficient for protection and parental guidance. You may even think having access to their password will secure your monitoring process. You may go so far as to cut them off Facebook. It may seem an appropriate option, but it could lead to going underground with an alias. Children are not stupid. Some already have two Facebook accounts. The one you know about and the one you do not.

We love our children and having the reigns so tight is not conducive to having a healthy relationship with them. We cannot protect them from every issue that they will come in contact with. We provide supernatural protection through prayer and training in righteousness.

Lead By Example

The first line of defense is leading by example by having a Godly Facebook account. Please keep in mind your child watches your action on Facebook. Who and what you like on Facebook speaks volumes. The people you support and stand behind through sharing will speak volumes. Are you flirting on Facebook? Are you posting provocative pictures of yourself? Are you selling breasts and thighs that can’t be cooked in grease?

Communication

The second line of defense is communicating with your child in real life. Facebook communication with your child may be intrusive. I am not advocating against it, but your main communication should be physical and not electronic. Your communication should consist of the wisdom of God coupled with some reflective talk. Your communication with your child should be communicated back to you.

Pray together.

The third line of defense is to pray together. It does not have to be everyday, but if you are watching television with them everyday, pray before or after your television watching. Prayer is not archaic; it is crucial for God to infiltrate the mix.

Unless the LORD builds the house, those who build it labor in vain. Unless the LORD watches over the city, the watchman stays awake in vain. It is useless for you to work so hard from early morning until late at night, anxiously working for food to eat; for God gives rest to his loved ones. Children are a gift from the LORD; they are a reward from him. Psalm 127:1-3

picture by  marcopako 

5 responses to “Is Friending Your Child on Facebook Enough?

  1. I shared this on Face Book. I pray it goes viral and that everyone who reads it takes your advice seriously. People are playing with fire and don’t seem to realize it. I’m not saying stay off Face Book. But I have seen professing Christian post things that would make a sailor blush. Whether we befriend young people or not, we have a Name to live up to, a Lord and Master to honor in all things, at all times. Thanks for posting this.

  2. Thank you for posting this. I have been talking with many people about this very thing for some time now. It’s as if many professing Christians don’t think that God can read their Face Book posts! I will be sharing this on my Face Book page.

  3. Good post!:) In this day and age it is hard to know what a parent is to do about all the new technology that opens new worlds for good and bad. My children grew up long before Facebook but my 14 year old granddaughter has been on it since she was 11 I think. I don’t approve and I think, because she is too young to be responsible– I know she posted pictures of a girl much older and now I overheard that she poses as an Asian girl. This behavior worries me and being on her Facebook or my grandson’s just raises my blood pressure. So I don’t do it any more because I’m not the parent and I have to leave it in their hands and yes–pray–pray–pray–pray that God will keep them from evil. I like the part about parents being careful what they post. So many times I read things by Christians that they should not be saying:( . It is a terrible testimony and even worse to non-believers who read it. God Bless

  4. Well said. I personally don’t even have a Facebook account, and my children are too young to create one, but I know how well they watch what we do. My four year old daughter uses her toy phone and already pretends to do pretty much anything you do with a smart phone from playing games to texting. I get concerned about what they will learn in this modern world we live in, but know the best thing for them is to be a good example. I hope your post reaches those who need to hear it. We can all be a better example for our children.

Leave a Reply

