Have A Seat!

Brownie with cherries and pistachios and Emma 4th b-day 027

The table is furnished with goodies and we are about to partake in something good. I am glad that you chose to come by. I had some things on my mind and wanted to share with you a little secret. Of course, this secret is encoded. Only those with ears to hear will actually get it. I am ok with that. Pardon me, if I did not ask you, to have a seat.

The most interesting thing dawned on me. The race we are running is not given to the fast and furious.  Please pass me those delicious brownies. Thank You! The prize is given and kept by those who run it correctly. Those brownies are really good!

It may seem like your running is done in vain. Yes! It appears you are losing the race. The surrounding darkness, like Lot, vexes your spirit daily. You turn on the news and hear the multiplicity of foolishness. Men and women confused about how to dress. Men, in every work place, from the fake pastor to the school janitor, chasing other men or boys. Did you try those cherries dipped in brown sugar? Try it. I find the flavors match perfectly. When turmoil of this kind gets worse there is a temptation to grow cold. Don’t do it.

Noah found grace in the eyes of the Lord and was delivered out of the affliction of a people who did not fear God and died within the waters of the flood. Rahab, through wise counsel, alone, was delivered when the city of Jericho was completely destroyed. Daniel was saved from the lion’s den and his three friends were saved from a fiery furnace. These men and women lived in days of seemingly no hope, because many of the people in some cases, all of the people, around them were wicked.  This pattern begins from the pages of Genesis and ends in Revelation. The same outcome happens to the righteous as it does to the wicked.

The righteous is preserved and the wicked are always destroyed. Do not stand with the wicked, they will perish.  We do not take pleasure in it; we simply stay away from it, so that we may be preserved. Notice the cases above.  One man or woman with God is stronger than a nation of wicked people and never forget that. Have a seat. Take part in commenting. I love to dialogue.

11 responses to “Have A Seat!

    • That is pretty awesome. It fits perfectly.

      A Psalm of David.

      Psalm 15

      1 O Lord, who may abide in Your tent?
      Who may dwell on Your holy hill?
      2 He who walks with integrity, and works righteousness,
      And speaks truth in his heart.
      3 He does not slander with his tongue,
      Nor does evil to his neighbor,
      Nor takes up a reproach against his friend;
      4 In whose eyes a reprobate is despised,
      But who honors those who fear the Lord;
      He swears to his own hurt and does not change;
      5 He does not put out his money at interest,
      Nor does he take a bribe against the innocent.
      He who does these things will never be shaken.

  1. Hello Roger,
    I would be very interested in your personal perspective of how you prioritize these two requirements. Which do you think is more important: to fear the Lord or to love the Lord?
    For me, I place more importance on loving God than fearing God.
    I enjoyed reading this blog. Very well done. I was uplifted from reading your blog.
    Sincerely,
    Richard

  2. Because of the grace of God we are made righteous in Christ Jesus which enable us to live holy by the power of the Spirit –

  3. Thank you Roger. I find this very encouraging in these dark, evil days.

  4. I can’t put into words how this touched my heart and comforted me, knowing all hope is not lost. All I can say is you truly have a blessed gift and I will pray that God’s grace works through you to reach many more as myself.
    God bless and keep you Roger!

  5. men2men@comcast.net

    After I was seated at the table.
    I was served,
    “If God is for you He is more than the whole world against you”

Leave a Reply

