TREASURES

treasures, heaven, salvation, life, victory

I saw this article about this man with terminal brain cancer; he was a teacher who was seeking out former students trying to ascertain whether or not he had made a difference in their lives as a teacher.

This seemed to be very important to this man, as if he felt this would be his legacy in some way. As I thought on his quest for his former students I couldn’t help but wonder, if his real quest should not have been to assure his salvation and a right relationship with God.

The thought comes to mind that speaks of our “good” deeds being burned up, only what’s done for Christ will last.  As this man’s illness draws him closer to his reunion with his creator I pray that he discovers his true legacy. His legacy of using his allotted time spent accomplishing the work of Christ.

We are busy with so many  “important ” things everyday as our allotted clocks wind down, let’s not forget without Jesus Christ at the center of our lives nothing else matters when all is said and done. He is the reason for the season.

by Delilah (Guest Post)

picture by  h.koppdelaney

Send guest post submissions to: inimnez@aol.com

8 responses to “TREASURES

  1. Reblogged this on Fear Not, Just Believe. Faith,the antidote to fear. and commented:
    What type of a legacy are you wanting to leave? Is it temporal or eternal? Consider what type of an impact is being made and if after it is all said and done, will you be spending eternity in heaven with those you wanted to leave your legacy with?

  2. This a great reflection. I will now understand my work using heaven as my measuring unit, rather than personal vanity as my motivation.

  3. Many of us influence others and make a difference in their lives without even knowing it. Years ago I went to a junior high Sunday school class to play music and share my faith with the students. All of the students seemed unaffected by what I shared and I left feeling I had failed. It wasn’t until several years later at my nephew’s graduation ceremony at that same church that I found out how wrong I was. As the graduating class was brought before the congregation they were asked what they planned to do. One young man said that he had decided to go to Bible college and enter the ministry. When asked why he made this decision he replied, “When I was in junior high a man came to our Sunday school class to play music and share his faith. The things he said just wouldn’t leave me alone. Soon after I decided to surrender my life to God.”

    • This is wonderful story and a great encouragement. 1 Timothy 5:25 comes to mind, “the good deeds of some people are obvious. And the good deeds done in secret will someday come to light.”

  4. Hi Delilah
    Yes, it does not matter what we do … even what we do for our Lord can be hay, wood and stubble if it is not done by the power of the Holy Spirit. Like Paul tells us in Galatians that we are not free or able to carry on in the flesh. I share your wish that this man will find our Lord Jesus in this time of suffering!
    Much love xx
    Mia

  5. I join you in praying this man meets Jesus and receives the gift of eternal life, is filled with the Holy Spirit and enjoys the gift of peace, resting in the grace of God. I pray our brethren around him are awake and yielded to God’s Spirit to love this man. My heart aches for him.

    Thank you for sharing.

  6. christian men talk

    I am learning that making the right decisions daily. I will glorify God. Others will be blessed, and it will be the best legacy that I can leave. What does it profit a man to gain the world and lose his sole.
    Like the brother has shared our labor is never in vain. Because GODS WORD WILL NEVER RETURN TO HIM VOID.

    Obeying Gods Word is the ultimate Legacy one could have. The Sister spoke volumes to me– I DO NOT WANT TO FALL IN THE WOOD, HAY & STUBBLE CATEGORY.
    Bro. Mike

  7. It is sad that so many put their hope in other things other than God; the legacy we should strive to leave behind is that our life and words helped to bring people to Christ and His Salvation.

Leave a Reply

