PRIZED POSSESSION

CS08tueW4AA0lnm.jpg-largeI have considered that my worth has been wrapped in the blanket of God’s grace. His revelation given to me concerning my salvation has given me a worth outside the realm of this world. No longer is it tied to my net worth or what vehicle is in the driveway or whether I have a driveway. It is not in the fact that my wife is hot and loves to run 5 and 10Ks. Nor is it the type of dog and whether or not my breed is AKC. It is not in the status of my employment or layoff. It is not found in my gender, race, or denomination. It does not reside in my relationship status or how many twitter followers I may or may not have on twitter. No amount of friends or fans on the Huffington Post or how many books I may or may not sell will be factored into my worth. My worth has been sealed, secured and already delivered.

The fact is that without Christ I have no future. The only possession I may attain on earth will have to be released when I longer live on the planet. Whatever satisfaction may be found in gloating and arrogant pride ceases to serve a purpose. What have I left behind? What is my worth now?

Gratefully, since my worth has been securely fastened in the arms of Christ, my relationship with him, at my death, only grows stronger. Now I see him face to face and will ever be grateful. Thank you Lord Jesus for making me worthy of heaven. For shedding your precious blood that secures my rightful place in glory. I am worth it. I am worth it, because Jesus says I am worth it and that settles it for me.

If you know the Lord, then stop valuing yourself with outward things and understand that no matter what happens in the end, if the creator of heaven and earth has valued you. Well, that speaks for itself.

19 responses to “PRIZED POSSESSION

  1. Great post. Couldn’t agree with you anymore. Sadly people have become consumed with material possessions, even though when the time comes we take nothing with us. This is a reason why I advocated avoiding Black Thursday and Friday.

  2. I really needed to read this just now…to remind myself that I am worth it, not because of who I am or what I possess or the relationships I nurture… . I am worth it because Jesus says so.

  3. Easy to say, hard to do. We are taught since the cradle to value ourselves based on our occupation, education, awards, accolades, and so on. I am becoming convinced that this, along with the general battle to prevent the world from infecting us, must be fought daily.

    • I am reminded of Hebrews 10:25 “Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some is; but exhorting one another: and so much the more, as ye see the day approaching.”

  4. So many in the Church today need to understand this valuable truth! Especially those in music ministry who think that their worth depends on how many fans they have on their web pages or how many CDs they sell. Thanks for posting.

  5. I had to share this on my Face Book page! Thanks again.

  6. Material things will pass away, but a spirit full of His grace is a treasure that will always stay and last forever! Great post Roger!

  7. shared!!! So well put and so needed today.

  8. It takes most of us a large portion of our lives to come to realize this. Ranking ourselves against others in almost every possible way is very ingrained in us. We seem to want to prove our value – and half the time that imagined value comes from how we compare to those around us – who we are better than, who we are not as good as. But rank is a fiction.

  9. Hi Roger
    This is the best place to be….wrapped in our Pappa’s Loving Embrace!!
    Bless you
    Mia

  10. Hi Roger 🙂
    I have nominated you for the, ” Blog of the Year 2012 Award”.Please find details at http://kalabalu.wordpress.com

  11. I found this to be informative and helpful for me at this time. Truly a prize possession.

Leave a Reply

