THINGS I DID NOT HEAR IN SCHOOL

campus3
I wished I heard that the things you desire now will change, so consider you’re choices carefully. I wished I heard that money is fleeting and you should save a little money every time you make some. I wished I heard that interest will destroy your net worth and it is important to pay for things in cash. I wished I heard that behind every business is an individual and they should be treated as such and make sure what I am borrowing I am able to pay this individual back. I wish I heard that your house mortgage expenses only rise, no matter the fixed rate, as taxes change. I wish I heard that giving some earned income to charity is important. I wished I heard that dating multiple partners in school is nonproductive. I wished I heard that girls are the weaker vessel and should be treated like princesses. I wished I heard that my negative actions affect others in ways I may never know. I wished I heard that each individual is gifted in certain areas for a particular purpose. Although, I may have not received what I believe I should have in school, at home I received some valuable things.

I am glad I heard that I was created in the image of God. I am glad I heard that the Bible contains all the wisdom I need to live a life pleasing to my creator. I am glad I heard that God created me for himself. I am glad to have learned that my worth is in Jesus and no matter my opposition he still loves me. I am glad to have made a friend in high places. I am glad to receive the grace of God. I am glad to have been told that when I am afraid, I may trust in him.

Please add to the list by commenting. This way I can repost with additional information.

22 responses to “THINGS I DID NOT HEAR IN SCHOOL

  1. Rhema word, my friend. May God richly bless you.

    Kim

  2. That right there is the problem Roger. It’s the things are children and people aren’t hearing. I’m glad you’re doing your part to tell them what they need to hear.

  3. Awesome post Roger. Kudos! I have a feeling our (my) generation is teaching our children a lot more than what our parents did. Seems to me churches are more popular than the old days as well. Obviously, people are listening……….

    • The popularity is my fear. When leaders of the church like TD Jakes raise the roof as he enters the stage with Oprah I fear he confuses his congregation. What happen to separation of church and state? Oprah’s message is in direct contradiction and yet many do not even realize. I understand the pull to have more followers on wordpress, twitter, and YouTube, but at what cost? Children are led by example as well as what they hear. I thank you for your comment as it challenges me to consider my time zone and this new one, when creating future blog post. If the Lord wills

  4. Catholic Glasses

    Reblogged this on Catholic Musings and commented:
    Nice thoughts. Keep contemplating.

  5. redonnocarmon

    Awesome post. It’s my prayer God grant us the grace and wisdom to pour in to the generation behind us. I definitely feel strongly more churches should teach money management and financial stewardship. It will save God’s people much undue stress IF they receive it!

  6. thank you for sharing

  7. My daily devotions include a prayer for my students and that I would be a Godly influence on their life. School is definitely a mission field. Great post!
    Blue Skies,
    CricketMuse

  8. Valuable true inspiration……….Shalom!………Kim

  9. I wish I heard and understood that the bad choices I make today will be the regrets that I look back upon and wish that I could undo.

  10. Good thing I’m female and yet stronger.
    Not a weaker vessel at all.

    • One thing to understand about Christians is that in our weakness we are made strong in the Lord. If men were taught according to 1 Peter 3:7 that women are to be honored as the weaker vessel and that a man’s prayer’s are hindered when not treating her as such, we could see a drop in sexual assault toward the weaker vessel in the military, a drop in sexual trafficking, that affects females far more then men, a drop in males molesting their daughters and others ect. The list goes on. Bottom line: men need to be taught this. It is not proper for a man to fight a woman as if she was a man. Period. It’s wrong. Why? She is the weaker vessel and needs to cherished.

  11. Not everything can be learned in the four corners of the classroom. Come to think of it, if teachers would really incorporate values in a lesson which would change an individual’s perception regardless of the subject, it would really make a difference.
    Before, I didn’t know so many things. Our teachers encouraged us to not just learn from them. That made a difference.

  12. You are so right when you say that our worth is found in Jesus. Once we understand that truth it revolutionizes the way we look at ourselves and our Lord. After our understanding of this we see Him as the center and preeminent One in our life.

  13. I thank God that I teach at a Catholic school and am able to minister to my students when they do something wrong. I can ask them WWJD! I also give them scripture to meditate on. I know I can’t, but I really wish I could do that when I go back to public school teaching.

  14. I wish that I heard it is easier to ask for forgiveness rather than permission, and that taking those risks are actually worth more than not taking them

  15. In middle school and high school, I wish they had taught me how to take care of my money and spend and safe them well.
    I wish they taught everybody to accept and respect every belief, even if it is not the one of me or you. And I wish they had taught me personally, that even though you feel, something is right for you at the moment, it may cost you much later on, because of the hurt it brings with it.

  16. i wish I had learned that virgin was a good thing.

    • VIRGIN?????????? what’s a virgin???????????

    • life in the real world?????????? yikes!!!!!! it kinda makes wanna just sit and listen to R.E.M.’s, “IT’S THE END OF THE WORLD AS WE KNOW IT,…and i feel fine” song over and over and over,……until l either believe that this is the best life has to offer,…..or,……until my head explodes with such magnitude that it doesn’t even make a mess!!!!!!!!

  17. great stuff.We are created in His image what a privilege.

Leave a Reply

