NEIGHBORHOOD WATCH

Screen Shot 2016-02-07 at 9.12.29 AMThe idea of watching over your responsible area is not new. The cashier watches her draw. The mailman watches his back for unfriendly dogs. The soldier watches himself while driving, through Kabul, for roadside bombs. The TSA agent watches personnel in the airport. Men watch attractive women as they pass by. Watching and looking and perceiving and internalizing are all apart of the daily walk of an individual. I know I walk around with certain thoughts within my mind about each and every situation I watch, but there may be a difference in the way I watch because something has affected my vision. You may already know and perceive before I ever mention it.

I understand that “Except the LORD build the house, they labor in vain that build it: except the LORD keep the city, the watchman waketh but in vain (Psalm 127:1). The very action I take from this realization is the fact that God says “I love them that love me: and they that in the morning early watch for me, shall find me (Proverbs 8:17 (DRB). Why is it important for us to find God in the morning? By the way, this morning does not necessarily mean 600am, whatever time your day begins. Your day begins at 500pm that is your morning. It is important to find God, because we know that Vengeance belongeth unto him, I will recompense, saith the Lord. And again, The Lord shall judge his people.

Our action should be to pray and seek God’s face before we leave the house. Our reaction is to understand that God is our defense the weapons we use are not carnal, but mighty through God for the pulling down of strongholds. We fight with prayer, praise, and worship of an almighty God. I recall a story where I was unable to watch my car in the parking lot, and this girl hits my vehicle leaving a long red streak on the side of my car. I am not in love with my vehicle, but Jesus, but it is tool I desire to be kept clean. Her car was the only red car in the parking lot, I knew it was her car, but I did not confront her, I did not pray, an imprecatory prayer, but did my normal thing. Three days later her car gets totaled. It could be unrelated, or could be. He (God) will not let your foot slip–he who watches over you will not slumber; (Psalm 121:3).

If you are children of Jesus then pray (watch) and go about your business and the Lord will sort out and handle your issues and you will not have to raise a finger. I have many stories where I did not have to raise a finger. I live to please Jesus and he in turn pleases me.

If you are not a child of Jesus this story is not for you. This story should not encourage you. You are dead in your sins and need to repent. Jesus saves all those who come to him expecting him. Then by all means join in.

Leave a Reply

