TOTAL SURRENDER

Miketz-Total-SurrenderI simply put off the flesh by immersing myself in the things of God. I minimize my exposure to the dangers of the computer, ungodly programs on television, phone applications, magazines, video games, and certain friendships and stores. I know that my outside temptations are one dimension and dealing with internal temptations is another. So the first thing I do in the morning is shut myself in the room with my computer and listen to Christian worship music. I listen until I am only thinking about God and the things he has done for me. I listen until all is quiet in my mind and I am able to focus on my word. Then I begin reading scripture. I keep reading until I literally start praying and then after prayer I meditate on the things read and prayed.

I seek to change things that are revealed to me in prayer and scripture reading. It may be gossip has entered my conversation.  I am literally speaking too much and the inevitable gossip arises, because I do not have that much to say and sometimes I talk a lot. So I ask the Lord to forgive me and identify this pattern in my life and God convicts me in my conversation if I am going down the path of gossip. Gossip is now put off and now I seek to put off more things. I do this, with all that is revealed, because I love God, I humble myself to his authority and simply stop. It works wonders because more and more people trust me with their words as they will not hear them from someone else. I have put off a conversation that is ungodly and now have put on a conversation which is that of God’s gospel. I move in this manner from one issue to the next in hopes that while I preach unto others I myself will not be a castaway (1 Corinthians 9:27).

12 responses to “TOTAL SURRENDER

  1. Thank you for sharing this. It was very inspiring and influential. 🙂

  2. I’m really struggling with life and I praise God I found this blog. This is exactly what I needed today.

  3. Wow, I wrote on this very topic yesterday. It’s a hard but good choice to make! I’m so glad to see other Christian bloggers speaking out on this.

    Blessings,
    Mel
    Please feel free to stop by: Trailing After God

  4. Your twitter button above doesn’t work.

  5. Thank you for sharing this. I let the world in too much lately and God has really worked on me. There are so many things to weed out and replace. I hope that many will hear this message.

    • I appreciate your comment on this difficult subject for believers. We live in a hedonistic world that pulls at our dispositional nature to sin and must fight it daily. Victory is had when we surrender to the Holy Spirit. Learning to trust him and ride the daily, not monthy or yearly, wave ever increasing in our skill to be victorious Christians.

  6. Good word my brother!!! I agree that as we mature in “JESUS”, worldly things stop being attractive to us.

    One common mistake is to keep going to night clubs!!! Just stop going; it will be one of the best decisions you ever make!

Leave a Reply

